Vintage Bond: Colonel Sun and The SPECTRE Trilogy Reissues

There are two exciting James Bond reissues from Vintage Books to get your hands on.

COLONEL SUN By Kingsley Amis with an introduction by the author

ColonelSunThe first ever Bond continuation novel, written by Kingsley Amis and originally published by Jonathan Cape in 1968, now in print for the first time since the 1990s.

Kris Potter, who designed the cover for Colonel Sun talked to us about the cover:

“Our original inspiration for the James Bond Series was Saul Bass, taking his goal to ‘try and reach a simple, visual phrase that tells you what the picture is all about and evokes the essence of the story’, referencing the colours of Bass’s posters and introducing a retro feel by cutting our designs by hand. For the new edition of Colonel Sun we wanted the design to fit in with the series look we had already created and played on the communist themes within the book with colour and design, hinting at the Greek Island location with the setting sun.”

Lunch at Scott’s, a quiet game of golf, a routine social call on his chief M, convalescing in his Regency house in Berkshire – the life of secret agent James Bond has begun to fall into a pattern that threatens complacency … until the sunny afternoon when M is kidnapped and his house staff savagely murdered. The action ricochets across the globe to a volcanic Greek island where the glacial, malign Colonel Sun Liang-tan of the People’s Liberation Army of China collaborates with an ex-nazi atrocity expert in a world-menacing conspiracy. Stripped of all professional aids, Bond faces unarmed the monstrous devices of Colonel Sun in a test that brings him to the verge of his physical endurance.

£8.99 | Paperback | Out Now

THE SPECTRE TRILOGY by Ian Fleming with a new introduction by Bond film producers Michael G. Wilson and Barbara Broccoli

The Spectre TrilogyHolding the world to ransom, planning to destroy Britain from the inside, and battling Bond to the death: discover the origins of SPECTRE in this omnibus edition of Thunderball, On Her Majesty’s Secret Service and You Only Live Twice. These three Bond novels tell of the rise and fall of the criminal network, masterminded by Bond villain Blofeld.

In Thunderball, SPECTRE is holding the world to ransom with two stolen nuclear weapons and it is 007’s duty to find them in time to prevent a global catastrophe.

In On Her Majesty’s Secret Service, Bond disrupts SPECTRE’s plan to destroy Britain from the inside, but little does he know victory will bring tragic consequences.

In You Only Live Twice, grief-stricken and erratic, Bond is given one last chance to face his arch-enemy in a battle to the death.

£12.99 | Paperback | Out Now

Incidental Intelligence

The First Bond Continuation Novel: ‘Colonel Sun’

Any Comments?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.